Skip to content

Maple Springs Primitive Baptist Church

Nella, Ashe County, North Carolina 1880-1897

The Maple Springs Primitive Baptist Church was organized on February 7, 1880 at the home of Jason Weaver in Nella community, Ashe County, North Carolina. Jason Weaver was a deacon at the Big Helton Primitive Baptist Church, and served as such in the new organization, as well as church clerk. Elder Calvin C. Davis was a minister and was first pastor of the church. This organization was disbanded in 1897 with members going to other churches. The following is a transcript of the church’s constitution preserving the original spelling and punctuation. Following this is a roll of the members of this church.


Of the Regular Primitive Baptist Church of Jesus Christ at Maple Springs was constituted in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred & eighty February 7th day Being a part of Big Helton and Little Horse Creek Being in number 19 (nineteen). We was called and examined and set apart a Church of Jesus Christ on the Orthodox faith of the Gospel.

  1. We believe in one true and living God, the first cause of all things sin excepted.
  2. We Believe Jesus Christ to be the equal Son of the Father.
  3. We Believe the Holy Ghost to be the ministering God of all grace & the comforter that was promised to come into the world and these Three are one & we believe Adam by transgression fell under the curse of God’s holy law & involved all his unborn race.
  4. We believe that man is not able to extricate himself from that dilemma that he is in.
  5. We Believe that God give them grace in his Eternal Son before the foundation of the World and man is justified by grace alone.
  6. We Believe in the final preseverage of the saints.
  7. We Believe that baptism by immersion to be the gospel mode.
  8. We Believe in a general resurrection of those bodies and a final judgment of the just and unjust.

We was solemnly set apart a Church of Jesus Christ with all the power and privileges of a Church.

By the Presbytery.

Harrison B. Miller
J. R. Baldwin

Membership Roll

  1. C. C. Davis, Dismissed by letter
  2. Matilda Davis, Dis. by letter
  3. Rebecca Davis, Dis. by ltr.
  4. Seaneth Davis
  5. Wm. J. Caudill, Dis. by ltr.
  6. Sarah Caudill, Dis.
  7. A. P. Davis, Died Aug. the 30th, 1881
  8. Rachel Davis, Dis. by letter
  9. Jason Weaver, Died March the 18th, 1892
  10. Matilda Weaver
  11. H. G. Cook, Dis. by letter, come back, excluded
  12. Zilla Blevins
  13. Mary Davis, Dis. by letter
  14. Elisha Roop, Dis. by letter
  15. Manda J. Roop
  16. Wm. Weaver, Died May 10, 1925
  17. Wesley Blevins, Dis. by letter
  18. Wm. B. Jones
  19. Catherine Jones

    These being the number that went into a new constitution at Maple Springs Church.

  20. Wiley Dolinger, Dis by letter
  21. Marilda Emeline Dolinger, Dis. by letter
  22. Elizabeth Blevins, Died Nov. the 21, 1895
  23. Polly Blevins
  24. Elexander Blevins, Deceased April, 1888
  25. Phebe Davis, Died Jan. the 10, 1893
  26. H. H. Tedder, Ex.
  27. Emeline Tedder
  28. Martha Blevins
  29. Nancy Blevins
  30. Materson Blevins, Dis by letter
  31. Mary Davis, Dis by letter
  32. Daniel Price, Dis. by letter
  33. Mela Price, Dis. by letter
  34. Charlotty Baldwin, Dis. by letter
  35. Jane Davis, Dead
  36. Elizabeth Boggs, Dead
  37. James Mulles, Ex, received back, ex.
  38. Evaline Price, Dis. by letter
  39. Jane Mabe, Ex.
  40. Phebe Thompson
  41. Milly Hash
  42. Stephen Thompson, Dismissed
  43. Peggea Thompson
  44. John Davis, Dis. by letter
  45. Martha Pennington
  46. John Cave, Dis by letter
  47. Rebecca Cave, Dis. by letter
  48. Thomas Davis, Dis. by letter
  49. Manda Davis, Dis by letter
  50. Mary C. Davis
  51. James Blevins, Ex.
  52. Phebe Blevins, Ex.
  53. Henderson Hart, Ex.
  54. Martha Hart, Dec’d.
  55. Elizabeth Dolinger
  56. Hiram Baldwin, Dec’d.
  57. Jesse Davis, Letter
  58. Andrew Hash
  59. Wilda Davis, Ex.
  60. Thomas Blevins, Ex.
  61. Alen Stuart
  62. Maryann Blevins, Letter
  63. Grant Blevins, Dec’d.
  64. Cloey Blevins
  65. Mise Caudill, Dis.
  66. Riley Edmisten, Dec’d.
  67. Catherine Weaver
  68. David Sullivan, Dis. by letter
  69. Charity Sullivan, Dis. by letter.