Skip to content

World War I — Virginia — Government Appeal Agents

  1. For Accomac County-Geo. L. Doughty, Jr., Accomac.
  2. For Albemarle County-R. T. W. Duke, Jr., Charlottesville.
  3. For Alexandria County-Samuel C. Brent, Alexandria.
  4. For Alleghany County-R. R. Stephenson, Covington.
  5. For Amelia County-T. R. Hardaway, Amelia C. H.
  6. For Amherst County-Edward Meeks, Amherst.
  7. For Appomattox County-S. L. Ferguson, Appomattox.
  8. For Augusta County-Hugh H. Kerr, Staunton.
  9. For Bath County-H. H. Byrd, Warm Springs.
  10. For Bedford County-Landon Lowry, Bedford.
  11. For Bland County-Samuel W. Williams, Jr., Bland.
  12. For Botetourt County-C. M. Lunsford, Fincastle. Succeeded F. C. Woodson, who served July, 1917, to August 11, 1917.
  13. For Brunswick County-B. A. Lewis, Lawrenceville. Succeeded Marvin Smithey, who was released to enter military service July 17, 1918.
  14. For Buchanan County-F. H. Combs, Grundy. Succeeded R. E. Williams, who served November, 1917, to November 1. 1918, who in turn had succeeded John W. Flannagan who served July, 1917, to November, 1917.
  15. For Buckingham County–E. W. Hubbard, Buckingham
  16. For Campbell County –Frank Nelson, Rustburg. Succeeded A. H. Light who served July, 1917 to March 20, 1918.
  17. For Caroline County–Willing Bowie, Bowling Green
  18. For Carroll County–W. D. Thompkins, Hillsville. Succeeded B. P. Goad who served February 5, 1918 to March 4, 1918, who in turn had succeeded S. F. Landreth, who served from July 1917 to February 5, 1918.
  19. For Charles City County–L. M. Nance, Roxbury
  20. For Clarke County–W. T. Lewis, Berryville
  21. For Craig County–C. C. Jones, New Castle. Succeeded J. P. Jones, who served July 1917 to June 28, 1918
  22. For Culpeper County–E. H. Gibson, Culpeper
  23. For Cumberland County–W. M. Smith, Cumberland
  24. For Dickenson County–J. Conway Smith, Clintwood.
  25. For Dinwiddie County-Hon. P. H. Drewry, Petersburg. Succeeded Samuel W. Zimmer, released to enter military service July 14, 1918.
  26. For Elizabeth City Couuty-E. E. Montague, Hampton.
  27. For Essex County-James M. Lewis, Tappahannock.
  28. For Fairfax County-C. V. Ford, Fairfax.
  29. For Fauquler County-William Horgan, Warrenton.
  30. For Floyd County-H. F. Tompkins, Floyd. Succeeded H. W. Simmons, who died August 16, 1917.
  31. For Fluvanna County-Dr. Ceo. Parrot, Fork Union. Succeeded Pembroke Pettit, who served July, 1917, to January 29, 1918.
  32. For Franklin County-A. H. Hopkins, Rocky Mount.
  33. For Frederick County–J. M. Steck, Winchester. Succeeded T. Russell Cather, released to enter military service May 17, 1918.
  34. For Giles County-M. P. Farrier, Pearisburg.
  35. For Gloucester County-W. B. Duncan, Wan. Succeeded C. S. Smith, who served July, 1917, to July 11, 1918.
  36. For Goochland County-A. K. Monteiro, Goochland.
  37. For Grayson County-P. L. Harrington, Independence.
  38. For Greene County-Henry W. Moyer, Stanardsville. Succeeded R. S. Thomas, who served July, 1917, to October 19, 1918.
  39. For Greensville County-H. L. Taylor, Emporia.
  40. For Halifax County-Wm. Leigh, Jr., Houston. Succeeded M. B. Booker, who served July, 1917, to August 31, 1917.
  41. For Hanover County– Robt. T. Winston, Richmond. Succeeded Walter Sydnor, who served July, 1917, to February 25, 1918.
  42. For Henrico County-F. T. Sutton, Jr., Richmond.
  43. For Henry County–J. H. Taylor, Martinaville.
  44. For Highland County–A. L. Jones, Monterey. Succeeded Edwin B. Jones, who served July, 1917, to January 7, 1918.
  45. For Isle of Wight County-Geo. F. Whitley, Smithileld.
  46. For James Gity County-Frank Armistend, Williamsburg.
  47. For King George County-Jos. A. Billingsley, King George C. H.
  48. For King and Queen County-J. W. Fleet, Biscoe.
  49. For King William County-Herbert I. Lewis, West Point.
  50. For Lancaster County-F. C. Newbill, Irvington.
  51. For Lee County-B. E. Skaggs, Jonesville.
  52. For Loudoun County-Cecil Conner, Leesburg.
  53. For Louisa County-W. C. Bibb, Louisa.
  54. For Lunenburg County-N. S. Tumbull, Jr., Victoria.
  55. For Madison County-N. C. Payne, Madison.
  56. For Mathews County-J. Boyd Sears, Mathews.
  57. For Mecklenburg County-J. T. I,,ewls, Clarkaville. Succeeded Irby Turnbull, who served July, 1917, to December 26, 1917.
  58. For Middlesex County-Wm. Dunbar Evans, Saluda.
  59. For Montgomery County-H. 1. Ropp, Christiansburg.
  60. For Nansemond County-S. B. Everett, Suffolk.
  61. For Nelson County-S. B. Whitehead, Lovingaton.
  62. For New Kent County-Manly H. Barnes, Providence Forge.
  63. For Norfolk County-A. B. Carney, Norfolk.
  64. For Northampton County-John T. Wilkins, Eastville.
  65. For Northumherland County-A. S. Rice, Heathaville.
  66. For Nottoway County–H. E. Lee, Crewe
  67. For Orange County–Alex T. Browning, Orange
  68. For Page County–Wm. F. Keyser, Luray
  69. For Patrick County– J. Fay Reynolds, Stuart, Succeeded R. E. Woolwine, who served July to December 1917.
  70. For Pittsylvania County-Wm. M. Treadway, Chatham. Succeeded . Dillard, who served July to August 22, 1917.
  71. For Powhatan County–Milton P. Bonifant, Powhatan
  72. For Prince Edward County– A. D. Watkins, Farmville
  73. For Prince George County-Timothy Rives, Petersburg
  74. For Princess Anne County–Edwin J. Smith, Norfolk
  75. For Prince William County-Thos. H. Lion, Manassas.
  76. For Pulaski County-F. W. Morton, Pulaski.
  77. For Rappahannock County-Wm. F. Moffett, Washington. Succeeded F. C. Baggarly, who served July to April, 1918, when he was released to enter government service.
  78. For Richmond County-A. N. Weilford, Warsaw.
  79. For Roanoke County-H. T. Hubard, Salem.
  80. For Bockbridge County-H. H. Huff, Lexington.
  81. For Rockingham County-Harry M. Strickler, Harrisonburg.
  82. For Russell County-S. B. Quillen, Lebanon.
  83. For Scott County-J. F. Sergent, Gate City.
  84. For Shenandoah County~. B. Williams, Woodstock. Succeeded Philip Williams, who served July and August, 1917, released to enter military service.
  85. For Smyth County-Geo. F. Cook, Marion.
  86. For Southampton County-H. B. L. Watkins, Franklin.
  87. For Spotsylvania County-Wm. W. Butzner, Fredericksburg.
  88. For Stafford County~G. B. Wallace, Fredericksburg.
  89. For Surry County-W. Stanley Burt, Claremont.
  90. For Sussex County-Thos. H. Howerton, Waverly.
  91. For Tazewell County-Jas. W. Harman, Tazewell.
  92. For Warren County-W. H. Turner, Front Royal.
  93. For Warwick County-C. C. Berkeley, Newport News.
  94. For Washington County-H. J. Summers, Abingdon.
  95. For Westmorelimd County-Conway Baker, Montross.
  96. For Wise County-C. H. McCorkle, Wise, Va.
  97. For Wythe County-H. M. Heuser, Wythevilie.
  98. For York County–C. H. Shields, Yorktown.
  99. For City of Danville-John W. Carter, Jr.
  100. For City of Lynchburg-Robert D. Yancey.
  101. For City of Norfolk-O. L. Shackelford.
  102. For City of Portsmouth-Robert B. Albertson.
  103. For City of Richmond-John Howard, Esq., Richmond; H. Grayson DaShiell, Esq., Richmond; J. L. Ingram, Esq., Richmond; W. R. Meredith, Esq., Richmond; George Bryan, Esq., Richmond.
  104. For City of Roanoke-Everett Perkins.