Personnel of the First Virginia Council of Defense — 1917

History - Wars and Military

New River Valley History:

New River History and Genealogy Discussion Group

For discussion of history and genealogy of the New River Valley of North Carolina and Virginia you are welcomed to join the New River History and Genealogy Discussion Group.

Click to join NRHG
Click to join NRHG

Welcome and we hope you join the discussions.


New River Notes — Complete

January 21, 2014

After about two years of work we have completed a major upgrade to New River Notes. On January 21, 2014 we switched in the last of the updated files and final page revisions.

In January 2013 we introduced the new site layout but because there were many pages left to do there was a big red Under Construction on the front page. A year later we've finished all of the pages that were on the original site. Construction is complete. We have a great looking site full of material to help you in your research and possibly entertain you.

New River Notes

January 6, 2013

New River Notes, a leading genealogy resource for the New River Valley of North Carolina and Virginia, launched its new look website today.

new river valley mapNew River Notes was originally launched in 1998 by Jeffrey C. Weaver providing New River Valley researchers with a new wealth of information and that tradition is continued today by the Grayson County, Virginia Heritage Foundation, Inc.

Welcome and we hope you enjoy our new look.

Personnel of the First Virginia Council of Defense — 1917

  1. General Edward M. Nichols, Supt. Of the Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, Va.,
  2. L. E. Johnson, President of the N.&W. Railway Co.
  3. R. Walton Moore, M. C., Fairfax, Va.
  4. Homer L. Ferguson, President Newport News Shipbuilding and Drydock Co., Newport News, Va.
  5. Col. Elijah B. White, Federal Food Administrator, Leesburg, Va.
  6. Bishop Collins Denny, Bishop of the M.E. Church, South, Richmond, Va.
  7. Dr. Ennion G. Williams, State Health Commissioner, Richmond, Va.
  8. James O. Winston, Contractor, Louisa County, Va.
  9. Hon, Richard Evelyn Byrd, U.S. District Attorney, Winchester, Va.
  10. D. Lawrence Groner, U.S. District Attorney, Norfolk, Va.
  11. Hon.George B. Keezell, State Senator, Keezletown, Va.
  12. Hon. John H. Crockett, House of Delegates, Wytheville, Va.
  13. Jesse M. Jones, Chairman, Agricultural Council of Safety, Blacksburg, Va.,
  14. A. P. Walker, Charlottesville, Va