Directory of Richmond City Officials 1861-1865

Government Records

New River Valley History:

New River History and Genealogy Discussion Group

For discussion of history and genealogy of the New River Valley of North Carolina and Virginia you are welcomed to join the New River History and Genealogy Discussion Group.

Click to join NRHG
Click to join NRHG

Welcome and we hope you join the discussions.


New River Notes — Complete

January 21, 2014

After about two years of work we have completed a major upgrade to New River Notes. On January 21, 2014 we switched in the last of the updated files and final page revisions.

In January 2013 we introduced the new site layout but because there were many pages left to do there was a big red Under Construction on the front page. A year later we've finished all of the pages that were on the original site. Construction is complete. We have a great looking site full of material to help you in your research and possibly entertain you.

New River Notes

January 6, 2013

New River Notes, a leading genealogy resource for the New River Valley of North Carolina and Virginia, launched its new look website today.

new river valley mapNew River Notes was originally launched in 1998 by Jeffrey C. Weaver providing New River Valley researchers with a new wealth of information and that tradition is continued today by the Grayson County, Virginia Heritage Foundation, Inc.

Welcome and we hope you enjoy our new look.

Directory of Richmond City Officials 1861-1865

Elected for one year terms from April to April, annually

Mayor: Joseph Carrington Mayo, 1861-1865
President of the Council: David J. Saunders, Sr. 1861-1865
Members of the City Council:

Ward Councilmen


Richard O. Haskins, 1861-1865
Nathaniel Boush Hill, 1861-1865
Allen Young Stokes, 1861-1865
John Hough Greaner, 1861-1862 William Holt Richardson, 1862-1865
Edwin A. J. Clopton, 1863-1865


George Knox Crutchfield, Sr., 1861-1865
David Judson Burr, Jr., 1861- 1865
Peachy Ridgway Grattan, 1861-1863
Thomas Hicks Wynne, 1861-1865, James Alexander Scott, Sr., 1862-1865
Richard Frederick Walker, 1863-1865
George Wythe Randolph, 1863-1865


David J. Saunders, Sr., 1861-1865
Larkin White Glazebrook, 1861- 1865
Samuel David Denoon 1861-1865
Fleming Griffin, 1861-1865
Thomas Carson Epps, Sr., 1861-1865

Ward Alderman


Richard D. Sanxay, 1861-1865
Dr. Abel Francois Picot, 1861- 1864
Charles B. Hill 1861-1862
George E. Saddler, 1861-1862
William Taylor 1861-1865
Nathaniel M. Lee 1862-1863
Edwin A. J. Clopton 1862-1863
James A. Inloes, 1863-1864
John H. Pleasants 1863-1865
Robert J. Christian, 1864-1865
L. T. Chandler, 1864-1865


James K. Caskie, 1861-1865
James Bray 1861-1864
William B. Smith 1861-1864
Robert M. Burton 1861-1862
John J. Binford 1861-1862
George N. Gwathmey 1862-1865
John Purcell 1862-1863
George W. Gilliam, 1863- 1865
Andrew L. Ellett, 1864-1865
Charles E. Wortham 1864-1865


John F. Regnault, 1861-1865
Nathaniel C. Lipscomb, 1861- 1864
William W. Timberlake, 1861-1864
Charles E. Anderson, 1861-1863
John W. Beveridge, 1861-1863
Adolphus Gary, 1863-1865
Thomas M. Jones, 1863-1865
James C. McCarthy, 1864-1865
James T. Williams, 1864-1865

Captain of the Night Watch:
Archibald Wilkinson 1861 d. 1/20/1862
Lewis M. Carter (Jan-Apr. 1862)
James B. Pleasants, 1862-1865.

Superintendent of Streets:
Micajah Bates (d. 7/14/1861)
Washington Gill, City Engineer, duties transferred to the City Engineer 4/7/1862

City Sergeant: Thomas Underwood Dudley, 1861-1865

City Collector: Julius A. Hobson, 1861-1865

City Assessor: Dabney M. Miller, 1861-1865

Superintendent of Water Works: James L. Davis, 1861-1865

Superintendent of Gas Works: John J. Fry, 1861-1865

High Constable: George A. Freeman, 1861-1865

Manager of the Poor House: John Pearce, 1861-1865

City Gauger: Richard Fox, 1861-1865

Grain Measurer: Henry Davis, 1861-1865

Elected for Four Year Term

City and Commonwealth Attorney: Raleigh T. Daniel, 1861-1865

Elected for Six Year Term

Clerk of the Hustings Court: Robert Howard, 1859-1865
City Surveyor: Thomas Mifflin Ladd, 1859-1865

Elected for Eight Year Term

Judge of the Hustings Court: William H. Lyons, 1860-1868
Judge of VII Circuit Court: John A. Meredith, 1860-1868

Officials Appointed by Council

Appointed for one year terms running from April to April annually.

City Health Officer: Dr. Albert Snead, 1861-1865
City Clerk and Chamberlain: Thomas Lawson (d. 12/9/1861); Allen W. Morton, Dec. 1861- 1865
City Auditor: Mosely S. Stratton 1861 - d. 6/9/1863; Thomas B. Harrison, June 1863-1865
Port Wardens (4): William Burk; James E. Riddick; Luther Libby and D. B. Bridgford all 1861- 1865
Clerk of the First Market: Samuel Ellis, 1860-1865
Weighmaster of the First Market: Thomas Diddep, 1860-1865
Clerk of the Second Market: John B. Valentine, 1860-1862; James P. Tyler, 1862-1865
Weighmaster of the Second Market: John B. Valentine, 1862-1865
Messenger of the Council: William James Epps, 1860-1865
City Engineer: Washington Gill, 1860-1865
Keeper of the Powder Magazine: Luther R. Reins, 1860-1865
Overseer of City Hands: Robert H. Higgins, 1860-1865
Inspector of Wagons, Carts, Etc.: John Talman, 1860-1865
First Officer of the Day Police: Reuben T. Seal: 1860-1865
Keeper of Oakwood Cemetery: John Redford, 1860-1865
Coroner: St. George Peachy, 1860-1865
Principal Engineer - Fire Brigade: Lewis L. Barnes, 1860-1865