Skip to content

Dan Hall Lockwood

DAN HALL LOCKWOOD is a veteran of thirty years’ experience in the tannery and extract industry, and for the past twelve years has been a resident of Southwestern Virginia. His home now is at Teas, where he is superintendent of the Marion Extract Company, Incorporated.

Mr. Lockwood was born at Kingston, Ulster County, New York, January 4, 1868, son of Peter V. D. and Sarah (Osborne) Lockwood, and is a descendant of Sir Alfred Lockwood, who came to America from England about 1650. His father was a farmer. Mr. Lockwood was educated in the public schools and the Kingston Academy at Kingston, New York.

For several years he was bookkeeper and buyer for James A. Lockwood & Brothers, dealers iii Hudson r River Blue Stone and lumber, but in 1892 moved to Chattanooga, Tennessee, and became identified with the Ladew Tannery. lit 1893 the United States Leather Company took over the Ladew interests, and Mr. Lockwood remained with this corporation as paymaster until 1911.

In that year he became, a Virginian, and was superintendent of the extract works at Big Stone Gap until 1914, since which year his home has been at Teas in Smyth County, and he has had charge of the technical and general business management of the Marion Extract Company, Incorporated, at the Teas plant.

Mr. Lockwood is a republican, is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and in 1887 joined the Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of Kingston, New York, but since 1916 has been it member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, at Teas. He married at Chattanooga, August 30, 1899, Miss Frances Ingram Lawson. Her father, Lucius Lawson, of West Hurley, New York, was one of the leaders in the business of producing and dealing in the Hudson River Blue Stone. Mr. Bad Mrs. Lockwood have three daughters, Miss Katherine L., Miss Frances L., Miss Lillian L. G. Lockwood.